Posted by: emilysuzanneclark | September 26, 2012

New World, New Jerusalem, New Orleans

Folk artist, street-preacher, prophet, and bride of Christ Sister Gertrude Morgan was the subject of my master’s thesis. I have enjoyed thinking about her apocalypticism, her art, and her place in American religious history for a few years now, and I love sharing my thoughts with others. In this RiAH post you can read about how she placed New Orleans and herself in the apocalyptic story: http://usreligion.blogspot.com/2012/01/new-world-new-jerusalem-new-orleans.html. The photograph of Morgan preaching at JazzFest was given to me courtesy of Ben Jaffe, the current owner of Preservation Hall who remembers Morgan fondly and whose parents were two of Morgan’s primary patrons.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

To hear some of Morgan’s music, click on the video below.

 

Categories

