Posted by: emilysuzanneclark | February 4, 2015

Adventures in #digitalhumanities, Part 1

Consider this post my adventures in #digitalhumanities, Part 1. Or Part 5. I’m not sure. Depends on how you define digital humanities.

I am part of a new reading group on campus here at Gonzaga that the Dean of Arts & Sciences put together to explore the Digital Humanities and its possibilities at GU. When the email was sent out from the Dean’s office asking who was interested, I jumped at the opportunity with a reply of “Yes!” I sort of stumbled into the #digitalhumanities back in 2010 when, as a graduate student at Florida State University, I became the managing editor for the Journal of Southern Religion, an online academic journal. For my first two years on board, this entailed copyediting and web editing. This meant that I had to learn web editing and web maintenance. At first, this was me minus the tie: Adobe Dreamweaver was the only way I got through it, and I felt like I was in 1995 using it. But oh well, the journal soldiered on. Lucky for the JSRLincoln Mullen joined a couple years later as the web editor and not only took over that task but gave the journal and complete and total aesthetic overhaul. My editorial job on the JSR has moved to the realm of content as the journal’s Associate Editor. While I no longer web edit the journal, as the Associate Editor of one of the first online religious studies journals, I still think of myself as “doing #digitalhumanities.” When I got ready to go on the job market, I made this wordpress site, and thankfully, wordpress does all the hard work for me.

Back to the reading group …

We started reading Matthew K. Gold’s edited volume Debates in Digital Humanities (University of Minnesota Press, 2012). We read Parts I and II for our first meeting. And when we met for the first time last week, the feeling in the room was one of frustration with the ambiguity of the term digital humanities and a lot of confusion about what even are/is #digitalhumanities. So I thought I would take to the Twitterverse to find out some more introductory pieces to bring back to the group. The response was awesome. I storifyed it here. Thanks y’all.

Update: This little Twitter query adventure made an appearance in a recent Digital Humanities Primer that real dh scholar Tona Hangen put together.

Leave a Reply

Categories

