Posted by: emilysuzanneclark | January 10, 2016

Teaching Strategies for Success

Last month I got asked to teach an extra class for this spring. Even though I feel like I never have enough time to get everything done, I agreed to take it on. This is because it’s the kind of class I think I would really enjoy teaching. It’s a single-credit class called “Strategies for Success” and is automatically enrolled with some of our academic probation students. The course has two goals: give them a little GPA boost and help them develop better skills for college success. The point is helping students succeed, and I can dig that.

1k3k6t6

I’ve never taught anything like this before, and I won’t lie; I’m a bit apprehensive about it. Other professors who have taught the class before have offered guidance on readings, syllabi, and assignments. There is also a common curriculum that is provided by the Center for Student Academic Success. I think the class will be a good experience, maybe not always “fun” but worthwhile for the students. I’m hoping to get a lot of out this too. I’ll be focusing on the types of skills that I wish I could spend more time on in my regular classes. In the process, I might figure out ways to quickly and more effectively cover these skills in those classes.

Here’s the syllabus!
Strategies for Success Syllabus Spring 2016


Leave a comment

Categories